USA trip: The Pacific North West

Over the coming weeks I’m going to blog the highlights of my 2013 USA trip. I attended the ACFW Conference in Indianapolis and took a scenic route from Australia to Indy. I hope you enjoy my travel adventures.

After a long layover in Hawaii, I arrived in Bellingham, WA on a drizzly Saturday morning. My dear friend and writing critique partner Suzie Johnson met me at the airport and we drove the short distance to the Canadian border. I’d managed to sleep on the flight, largely due to acquiring a last minute upgrade to first class with Alaskan Airlines. I was awake and getting used to travelling on the wrong side of the road. Our cars are right hand drive in Australia.

20140226-141628.jpg

Our first stop was the Peace Arch at the border of Washington State and British Columbia. The Peace Arch Park is international territory and shared by the USA and Canada.

20140226-141453.jpg

The Peace Arch Monument, dedicated in 1921, is in the middle of the park. It commemorates the 1814 signing of the Treaty of Ghent.

20140226-141600.jpg

This is the view of Washington from the Canadian side of the arch.

20140226-141524.jpg

This photo was taken under the Peace Arch. The Canadian flag flower garden can be seen in the distance. We watched a couple of cute American and Canadian squirrels playing together in the park. You can stand in the park and see residential houses in Surrey, British Columbia, across the road. If you cross the road into Canada, you need to meet the Canadian visa requirements and re-enter the USA via customs. The busy highway in the photo below is full of cars waiting to cross the border into Washington.

20140226-141737.jpg

Stop by next Friday and I’ll share my highlights from the beautiful city of Seattle.

2 thoughts on “USA trip: The Pacific North West

    • Hi Mary, Thanks for stopping by 🙂 One day I may use some of these places as a future book setting. At the moment I’m happy to keep writing and sharing my love of Australian contemporary settings.

      Like

Leave a Reply

